What does IP address 10.0 0.0 8 mean?

A network numbered “10.0. 0.0/8” (which is one of those reserved for private use) is a network with eight bits of network prefix, denoted by “/8” after the oblique. The “8” denotes that there are 24 bits left over in the network to contain IPv4 host addresses: 16,777,216 addresses to be exact.

What is the 10.0 0.0 IP address?

IP Address (10.0. 0.0) – It is the global addressing scheme used under Internet Protocol. Any network device in the world can be recognized with its IP address. The IP addresses are allocated to each device and are unique.

What is the longer IP address?

The maximum length of an address is 15 characters. Integers “0-9” and “.” can be part of an IP address. Integers “0-9”, “.”, and “-” can be part of an IP address range. The range of IP addresses must be between 0.0.

What is a IP prefix?

A network prefix is an aggregation of IP addresses. Currently, the Internet runs two protocol versions of IP: version 4 and 6. An IP address version 4 (or short IPv4) consists of a 32-bit number. Whereas an IPv6 consists of a 128-bit number.

What does IP address 10.0 0.0 8 mean? – Related Questions

How can I find someone’s IP address?

Websites such as WhatIsMyIPAddress.com offer help finding IP addresses and uncovering where they’re located. Be sure to double-check IP address information you find to verify its accuracy.

What is my private IP?

Go to Wi-Fi, tap the i that appears next to the network it is connected on, and the IP address will display under the DHCP tab. Android. Select Settings, go to About, tap on Status and the IP address should be visible.

What is prefix and suffix in IP address?

IP addresses are divided into two parts: the prefix and the suffix. The address prefix identifies the network portion of an IP address, and the address suffix identifies the host portion. Prefixes are assigned by global authorities, and suffixes are assigned by local system administrators.

How do I find the prefix and suffix of an IP address?

For example, if the first three bits of a classful address are 110, it is a class C address and therefore the first 24 bits are the prefix and the last 8 are the suffix.

What is the prefix of Class IP address?

Prefix: The prefix part of IP address identifies the physical network to which the computer is attached. . Prefix is also known as a network address. Suffix: The suffix part identifies the individual computer on the network. The suffix is also called the host address.

What is IP prefix in BGP?

In BGP terms, the bits representing the network identifier are the “prefix” of the entire address, hence the “network” is the “prefix.” The number of bits set in the “subnet mask” is called the “prefix length,” and indicates how much of the IP address is the “prefix.”

What are the 4 types of IP address?

An internet protocol (IP) address allows computers to send and receive information. There are four types of IP addresses: public, private, static, and dynamic.

What are the 7 types of IP address?

10 Different Types of IP Addresses Used in Computer Networks
  • IPv4.
  • IPv6. IP Addresses According to how they are used in a Network.
  • Public IP Address.
  • Private IP Address. IP Addresses According to how they are assigned to a host.
  • Static IP.
  • Dynamic IP.
  • Local Host IP (or Loopback IP)
  • Default Gateway IP.


BGP uses TCP as its transport protocol. This eliminates the need to implement explicit update fragmentation, retransmission, acknowledgement, and sequencing.

Is BGP Layer 3 or 4?

BGP in networking is based on TCP/IP. It operates on the OSI Transport Layer (Layer 4) to control the Network Layer (Layer 3). As described in RFC4271 and ratified in 2006, the current version of BGP-4 supports both IPv6 and Classless Inter-Domain Routing (CIDR), which enables the continued viability of IPv4.


BGP-based VPNs allow a network operator to offer a VPN service to a VPN customer, delivering isolating connectivity between multiple sites of this customer.


DNS (domain name system) servers provide the IP address, but BGP provides the most efficient way to reach that IP address. Roughly speaking, if DNS is the Internet’s address book, then BGP is the Internet’s road map.

Who controls BGP?

The definition of this Extended Community Attribute is documented in RFC 4360. The IANA administers the registry for BGP Extended Communities Types.

What are the 3 types of DNS?

There are three main kinds of DNS Servers — primary servers, secondary servers, and caching servers.

What are the 3 types of DNS zones?

The three DNS server types server are the following: DNS stub resolver server. DNS recursive resolver server. DNS authoritative server.

Is DNS a layer 3 or 4?

We know what DNS is, but what about the DNS layer? At a high level, the DNS protocol operates (using OSI model terminology) at the application level, also known as Layer 7. This layer is shared by HTTP, POP3, SMTP, and a host of other protocols used to communicate across an IP network.

Leave a Comment